What is the Zone diet? Do you want to know about the Zone diet


The Zone Diet is a loss-making diet based on the idea of ​​eating a low and equal percentage of carbohydrates at every meal and having five meals a day. Developed by biochemist Barry Sears, who is known as the “Zone Diet”.

What is the Zone diet?

Barry Sears considered food to be like medicine and the right dose should be taken at the right time. According to Sears, high levels of insulin along with omega- 6 fatty acids lead to weight gain because they secrete other hormones that promote inflammation, which is believed to be the main cause of obesity. The goal of the Zone diet is to make sure that insulin and other hormones that promote inflammation remain under control, without going up or down, by eating foods in the right proportions at every meal:

  • 40% of carbohydrates
  • 30% protein
  • 30% fat

Sears says the body needs the right balance of these nutrients to stay healthy, maintain an ideal weight, and get the energy needed to function.

Is the Zone diet a balanced diet?

These diets fall within a moderate diet that contains protein, carbohydrates, fats and other nutrients necessary for a healthy body. 

What are the benefits of the Zone diet?

This diet has many benefits, including:

  • Eat all kinds of foods and foods.
  • Multiple meals (main and snacks)
  • Reducing infections
  • Lose weight quickly
  • Slow down the signs of aging
  • Prevention of chronic diseases

This diet relies on eating the largest amount of monounsaturated fat-free protein, vegetables and whole grains to control and reduce blood sugar.

How do you follow the Zone diet?

As mentioned above, diets should consist of 40% carbohydrates, 30% protein, and 30% fat. You should also include a small amount of healthy, monounsaturated fats, avocados, olive oil, and unsalted nuts. It is also important to eat five meals a day to always feel full and eat lean proteins such as chicken breast, turkey, lean meat, fish, seafood, dairy, and eggs, in addition to carbohydrates, which include fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, and vegetable oils.